International mobility

The research internships are an opportunity for all students to travel both in France and abroad. Other international mobility opportunities (double degree, ERASMUS, etc.) are also offered within the program.

Leaflet map

The generalist nature of the training leads to a broad thematic base and a large number of laboratories involved in the training. However, the link to research goes far beyond the Lyon context: the possibility of inviting foreign researchers to participate in the program, the possibility of spending a semester in another university in France or abroad (at the M1 or M2 level), and the possibility of doing research internships abroad all contribute to a link to research that goes beyond the local context. In general, students do their L3 internship (8 weeks) in France and their M1 internship (12 weeks) abroad. There is no general rule for the M2, since students choose according to their desires, past experience, and opportunities to pursue a thesis.

The Long Research Project is an opportunity for international mobility. It can be conducted during the third or fourth year of the ENS diploma.

Below are some examples of places where our students can go abroad. Examples of research laboratories, located in France, involved in the training are also given.

Argentina: Université de Buenos Aires, Université de La Plata

Australia : University of Sidney, University of Melbourne, Monash University, University of Queensland

Austria : Université de Vienne, Université d’Innsbruck

Belgium : Université de Liège, Université de Namur, Université Libre de Bruxelles, Université Catholique de Louvain 

Canada : Perimeter Institute, McGill University, Simon Fraser Vancouver University, University of Montréal, University of Ottawa, Concordia University, Quebec University in Montréal

Czech Republic : Academy of Sciences

Chile : University of Valparaiso, Santiago Chile University

China : Computational Research Center in Beijing, E2P2L (SOLVAY/CNRS) in Shangai

Finland :  Aalto University, Helsinki University

Germany: Berlin University, Berlin Technical University, University of Dusseldorf, University of Heidelberg, KIT Karlsruhe, University of Hambourg, DESY, Postdam University, Munich Technical University, University of Leipzig

Ireland : Université de Dublin, University College Dublin

Italy : Politecnico di Milano, Université La Sapienza de Rome, Scuola Internazionale Superiore di Studi Avanzati (SISSA) inTrieste, Université de Florence, Université de Gènes, University of Roma, Torino University, Pisa University

Islande : University of Reykjavik

Japan : Osaka University, Nagoya University, Kobe University, Kuyshu University

Mexico : National Autonomous Mexico University

New-Zelande : Universitty of Auckland

Norway : University of Oslo, Trondheim University, Bergen University

Netherlands : Technical Delft University, University of Amsterdam, Free Amsterdam University, Utrecht University, Leiden University, Groningen University, Nijmegen University, Wageningen University

Portugal : New Lisboa University

Russia: Nuclear Research Intitute in Moscow, Catalysis Institute in Boreskov

South Africa:  Stellenbosch University, KwaZulu-Natal Durban University

Spain : Université de Barcelone, Université de Tarragone, Université Polytechnique de Madrid, Université de La Laguna

Sweden : Université d’Uppsala, Université de Lund, Royal Institute of Technology KTH Stockholm, Université d’Umea, Université de Stockholm, Université de Goteborg

Switzerland : EPFL, ETH Zürich, Université de Genève, Université de Zurich

UK : Universiy of Cambridge, University of Oxford, Trinity College, King's College, Imperial College, University College London, Queen Mary London University, University of Manchester, University of Kent, Exeter University, Université of Edimbourg, University of Saint-Andrews, University of Bristol, Heriot Watt University, University of Newcastle, University of Southampton, University of Warwick, University of Sheffield

USA : MIT, Harvard University, Université de Cornell, Princeton University, Université de Washington, University of Texas San Antonio, University of Maryland, UCLA , University California Santa Barbara, University Californie San Diego, University California Riverside, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, New York University, Northwestern University, Boston University, Carnegie Mellon University, Michigan University, Florida State University, University of Wisconcin


  • Centre de Recherche en Astrophysique de Lyon (CRAL)
  • Institut de Physique Nucléaire de Lyon (IPNL)
  • Institut Lumière Matière (ILM)
  • Laboratoire de Mécanique des Fluides et Acoustique (LMFA) 
  • Laboratoire de Physique de l’ENS de Lyon (LPENSL)
  • Institut Rhônalpin des Systèmes Complexes (IXXI)
  • Laboratory of Therapeutic Applications of Ultrasound (LabTAU)
  • Laboratoire de Géologie de Lyon (LGL)
  • Institut des Nanotechnologies de Lyon (INL)


Bordeaux: Centre de Recherche Paul Pascal (CRPP), Laboratoire Ondes et Matière d’Aquitaine (LOMA), Laboratoire du Futur (LOF)

Dijon: Institut Carnot de Bourgogne

Grenoble: Laboratoire Interdisciplinaire de Physique (LIPhy), Laboratoire des Écoulements Géophysiques et Industriels (LEGI), Institut Néel, Observatoire des Sciences de l’Univers de Grenoble

Marseille: Centre de Physique Théorique, IRPHE, Institut Fresnel, IUSTI

Montpellier: Laboratoire Charles Coulomb

Nice : Institut Non-Linéaire de Nice, Laboratoire de Physique de la Matière Condensée, Laboratoire J.A. Dieudonné

Paris-Région Parisienne : Institut Curie, Institut Pasteur, Laboratoire Pierre Aigrain (ENS Paris), Laboratoire Matière et Systèmes Complexes (Université de Paris), Laboratoire Jean Perrin (Sorbonne Université), Laboratoire de Physique des Milieux et Matériaux Hétérogène (ESPCI), Laboratoire Gulliver (ESPCI), Laboratoire Kastler Brossel (ENS Paris), Laboratoire de Physique Statistique (ENS Paris), Laboratoire de Physique Théorique de la Matière Condensée (Sorbonne Université), Laboratoire de Physique des Solides (Université Paris Sud), Laboratoire de Physique Théorique et Hautes Energies (Sorbonne Université), Observatoire de Paris (PSL), LadHyX (Ecole Polytechnique), Laboratoire Fluides Automatique et Systèmes Thermiques (FAST, Université Paris Saclay), Service de Physique Théorique du CEA Saclay, Service de Physique de l'Etat Condensé du CEA Saclay, Laboratoire de Physique des Lasers (Univ. Sorbonne Paris Nord)

Rennes: Institut de Physique de Rennes

Strasbourg: Laboratoire Charles Sadron, Institut de Génétique et de Biologie Moléculaire et Cellulaire (IGBMC), Institut de Sciences et d’Ingénierie Supramoléculaires (ISIS)

Toulouse: Institut de Mécanique des Fluides de Toulouse (IMFT)